Men’s Basketball


Three @APUbasketball juniors recognized on @NABC1927 2015-16 Honors Court.
10 hours ago

Johnson Named All-American

« Back to Stories

Related Links

March 26, 2010
Sammi Sheppard

AZUSA, Calif. -- Azusa Pacific senior guard Dominique Johnson has been named to the 2010 National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) All-America First Team by the NAIA Men’s Basketball Coaches’ Association All-America Committee.

For the second straight year, Johnson led the Cougars in scoring (17.1 avg.) and was among the team leaders in 3-point shooting (67 made) and steals (1.2 avg.) This is the second year Johnson has been named to the All-America team, earning third team honors last year. Johnson was also named All-Golden State Athletic Conference (GSAC) for the second consecutive year.

Johnson, a native from Detroit, Mich., led the Cougars to a 28-10 record and a second-place finish in the NAIA National Championship Tournament, marking only the second time in program history the Cougars advanced to the finals. Azusa Pacific also placed second in 2005.

On Feb. 5, Johnson tied the school record for most 3-pointers made in a single game with 8 against Biola University, finishing the game with a season-high 33 points. In that same contest, Johnson surpassed 1,000 career points in just his 58th game at Azusa Pacific.

Johnson, a transfer from Southwest Tennessee Community College in Memphis, Tenn., finished his Cougar basketball career with 1,241 points, averaging 17.1 points per game in his 72-game Cougar career. He is just the fourth Cougar ever to be selected to the NAIA All-America First Team, the first since Caleb Gervin in 2003.

He is one of 5 GSAC players to be named to the 2010 NAIA All-America Teams. Joining Johnson on the first team are Biola’s Rocky Hampton and Justin Johnson from Concordia University. Terrence Worthy (Concordia) was given second team honors and James Lewis (Fresno Pacific University) received third team recognition.

Click here to view the entire 2010 NAIA men’s basketball All-America teams.