Men’s Tennis


Former @APUBaseball hurler Josh Staumont with a solid start in his second double-A appearance #NCAADII
20 hours ago

Bakalov Wins Ojai Crown

« Back to Stories

Related Links

April 23, 2005
Micah McDaniel
OJAI, Calif -- Boris Bakalov defeated teammate Adam Davidson in the finals of the 105th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament Sunday to lift Azusa Pacific to its seventh Men’s Independent College Team Tournament championship.

Bakalov and Davidson also teamed together to win the doubles’ tournament.

It is the Cougars’ seventh Ojai championship in the past 8 years.

All 3 Cougars--Bakalov, Davidson and Gordon Hong--that participated in the singles’ portion of the tournament advanced to the semifinals, culminating in Bakalov’s narrow win over Davidson, the defending champion. Bakalov came back from a 1-0 hole to down Davidson, 6-7 (3), 6-1, 7-6 (5), to claim the title.

Bakalov defeated Michael Hamp of Colorado College, 6-3, 6-1, in the Sweet 16 before going on to defeat Westmont’s Burke Marold, 6-1, 6-0, in the quarterfinals and Point Loma Nazarene’s Philip Wulf, 6-0, 6-1, in the semifinals.

Davidson defeated Cal Poly Pomona’s Andy Chang, 7-6, 6-0, in the round of 16, Alex Brandford of Colorado College, 6-2, 7-5, in the quarterfinals and Hong, 7-5, 6-3, in the semifinals.

It was also an all-Azusa Pacific championship on the doubles’ side as well as Bakalov and Davidson teamed together to defeat Hong and David Goodman, 6-7 (1), 7-6 (4), 6-3. Hong and Goodman were the defending doubles’ champions.

Davidson and Bakalov defeated Tim Maguire and Brandford in the quarterfinals when the Colorado College duo withdrew because of an injury. They dropped Point Loma’s Christian Gerloff and Craig Johnson, 6-1, 6-0, in the semifinals. Hong and Goodman downed Andrew Lainy and Andy Muesse of Sonoma St., 6-3, 6-2, in the first round, before knocking off Kirthi Narasimhan and Stephen Wolcott of Claremont Mudd-Scripps, 6-4, 6-1, in the quarterfinals. In the semifinals, they took care of Westmont’s duo of Marold and Bryn Mercado, 1-6, 6-2, 6-4.

Sweet 16
Adam Davidson (APU) d. Andy Chang (CPP) 7-6, 6-0
Gordon Hong (APU) d. Voltaire Navarro (AIU) 6-1, 6-3
Boris Bakalov (APU) d. Michael Hamp (CC) 6-0, 6-2

Davidson d. Alex Brandford (CC) 6-2, 7-5
Hong d. Andrew Lainy (SSU) 6-3, 1-6, 6-4
Bakalov d. Burke Marold (WC) 6-1, 6-0

Davidson d. Hong 7-5, 6-3
Bakalov d. Philip Wulf (PLNU) 6-0, 6-1

Bakalov d. Davidson 6-7 (3), 6-1, 7-6 (5)

Sweet 16
Hong/ David Goodman d. Lainy/Andy Muesse (SSU) 6-3, 6-2

Bakalov/Davidson d. Brandford/Tim Maguire (CC) default
Hong/Goodman d. Kirthi Narasimhan/Stephen Wolcott (CMS) 6-4, 6-1

Bakalov/Davidson d. Christian Gerloff/Craig Johnson (PLNU) 6-1, 6-0
Hong/Goodman d. Marold/Bryn Mercado (WC) 1-6, 6-2, 6-4

Bakalov/Davidson d. Hong/Goodman 6-7 (1), 7-6 (4), 6-3