Women’s Tennis


Two @azusapacific student-athletes nominated by @ThePacWest for 2016 NCAA Woman of the Year. https://t.co/lbf7VqJVdZ https://t.co/vCUipw2E5R
3 days ago

Women Take Opening Match

« Back to Stories

Related Links

May 13, 2002
Micah McDaniel
PEACHTREE CITY, Ga. -- Azusa Pacific didn't have to put up much of a fight to start the NAIA Championship Tournament in Peachtree City, Ga., and in the in big scheme of this week's championship tournament, maybe that's a good way to start.

The Cougars barely worked up a sweat in its opening round 5-0 victory over University of Sciences in Philadelphia. Azusa Pacific needed to win just 3 matches, including a pair of doubles contests, before clinching the team victory. Sciences defaulted 2 points to the Cougars before the teams ever took the courts. The rest was pretty much up to freshman Jennifer Hansen, who at No. 2 singles cleaned up on Demetra Tsapepas, 6-0, 6-0. Hansen then teamed with Brianne Hahn for an 8-1 victory over Stephanie Congdon/Jigna Patel at No. 1 doubles.

Azusa Pacific, which was ranked No. 17 in the final NAIA Coaches' Poll, then clinched the victory with Eva Dvorakova and Patty Guinto's 8-0 sweep at No. 2 doubles over Lynda Ly and Tsapepas. Minthy Nguyen picked up default victories at No. 6 singles and No. 3 doubles when a key USF player woke up this morning with food poisoning and could not play.

With the first round victory, Azusa Pacific improves to 15-6 on the season and advances into the "Sweet 16" to take on No. 4-ranked Flagler University (Fla.) Tuesday (May 14) at 9.m.. Flagler, which is 17-6 on the season, had an opening round bye.

The Cougar men, who are seeded sixth, will take on Webber University at noon for their first match of the men's championship tournament. Earlier today Webber defeated St. Francis of Illinois, 5-0.

Singles: Jennifer Hansen (APU) def. Demetra Tsapepas (USP), 6-0, 6-0
Minthy Nguyen (APU) def. Chrisian Tighe, default
Doubles: Jennifer Hansen/Brianne Hahn (APU) def. Stephanie Congdon/Jigna Patel (USP), 8-1
Eva Dvorakova/Patty Guinto (APU) def. Demetra tsapepas/Lynda Ly (USP), 8-0
Mayu Sato/Minthy Nguyen (APU) def. Amy Wojcik/Christina Tighe (USP), default