Women’s Tennis


Former @APUBaseball hurler Josh Staumont with a solid start in his second double-A appearance #NCAADII https://t.co/Mhr1gHl0sn
13 hours ago

Senators Veto Cougars

« Back to Stories

Related Links

May 19, 2005
Micah McDaniel
Auburn-Montgomery (Ala.) 5
Azusa Pacific 0

NAIA Tournament–Semifinals

MOBILE, Ala. -- The NAIA’s No. 1-ranked, undefeated and heavy national championship favorite Auburn-Montgomery (Ala.) continued its dominance of the 2005 NAIA Women’s Tennis National Championship field, this time beating up on Azusa Pacific, 5-0, in Thursday’s semifinals.

The win moves the Senators (26-0) into their sixth consecutive national championship match where they will play for their fourth title in that span and second straight.

Azusa Pacific, which made a second consecutive impressive run into the semifinals, concludes its season at 21-8, matching last year’s school-record for wins in a season.

The Senators have given up just 10 total points in 2 previous matches and have won 5 of 9 doubles’ matches by 8-0 scores. They jumped out to an insurmountable 3-0 lead after sweeping the doubles’ matches. They took Nos. 2 and 3 doubles by convincing 8-0 margins. Only Jennifer Dao and Bay Daniels were able to score points, falling to Nadia Lysak and Gedvile Norkute, 8-4, at No. 1.

In singles’ play, the Senators needed just 2 victories, and they got them from Aina Rafolomanatsiatosika at No. 3 (6-1, 6-1) and Kamila Dadakhodjaeva at No. 6 (6-0, 6-0) to clinch the match and move into tomorrow’s championship against conference-rival Brenau (Ga.).

Meanwhile, Azusa Pacific was awarded NAIA Scholar Team honors with their team GPA of 3.37. Individually, senior Lynn Quitoriano received Daktronics-NAIA All-American Scholar Athlete honors.

1 – Jennifer Dao (APU) vs. Nadia Lysak (AUM) DNF (5-4)
2 – Khady Berthe (AUM) vs. Peggy Bell (APU) DNF 6-6
3 – Aina Rafolomanantsiatosika (AUM) d. Bay Daniels (APU) 6-1, 6-1
4 – Suheil Lizana (AUM) vs. Mayu Sato (APU) DNF (6-0, 5-0)
5 – Lynn Quitoriano (APU)vs. Gedvile Norkute (AUM) DNF 6-5
6 – Kamila Dadakhodjaeva (AUM) d. Christiana Scolinos (APU) 6-0, 6-0

1 – Lysak/Norkute (AUM) d. Dao/Daniels (APU) 8-4
2 – Mandy Septoe/Rafolomanantsiatosika (AUM) d. Bell/Quitoriano (APU) 8-0
3 – Lizana/Berthe (AUM) d. Sato/Scolinos (APU) 8-0