### **AZUSA PACIFIC UNIVERSITY**

# THE CHASE A. SAWTELL INSPIRATIONAL FACULTY AWARD and THE TEACHING EXCELLENCE AND CAMPUS LEADERSHIP AWARD

#### DESCRIPTION

Each year, Azusa Pacific University presents an award to each of two worthy faculty members. They are The Chase A. Sawtell Inspirational Faculty Award and The Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award, which were funded for two years initially by the Sears Roebuck Foundation. These awards are presented at the Fall Faculty Workshop and each is accompanied by a memento and an honorarium of \$1,000.

### CRITERIA FOR THE CHASE A. SAWTELL INSPIRATIONAL FACULTY AWARD

The recipient shall be a full-time APU faculty member with a minimum of two full-time years of service at APU; shall model significant faculty involvement in the lives of students; shall have a strong Christian influence in the lives of students, peers, alumni, and administrative staff; and shall be seen as living a life of service to others, affirming the worth of each person as a unique individual created by God. Past recipients are not eligible for five years after receiving the award.

#### CRITERIA FOR THE TEACHING EXCELLENCE AND CAMPUS LEADERSHIP AWARD

The recipient shall be a faculty member who has made a distinct difference in the teaching climate of the university in such areas as model classroom teaching, campus leadership, pioneering teaching methodology, creative course development and/or instructional support. Past recipients are not eligible for five years after receiving the award.

#### PAST RECIPIENTS

### SAWTELL

- 1988 Chase A. Sawtell, English
- 1989 Matthew Touhey, Social Work
- 1990 Terry Franson, Physical Education
- 1991 Wendel Scarbrough, Computer Science
- 1992 Al Clifft, Music
- 1993 Bruce Baloian, Religion
- 1994 Carole Lambert, English
- 1995 June Hamlow, Modern Languages
- 1996 Stan Deal, Business & Management
- 1997 Clarence Butz, Business & Management
- 1998 Marv McKissick, Music
- 1999 Ilene Bezjian, Business & Management
- 2000 Glenn Austin, Music
- 2001 Jim Hedges, English
- 2002 Diana Glyer, English
- 2003 Michael Laymon, Physical Therapy
- 2004 Kimberly Battle-Walters, Social Work
- 2005 Guy Kinnear, Art
- 2006 Bryan Lamkin, History & Political Science
- 2007 Roger Conover, Business
- 2008 Rodney Cathey, Music
- 2009 Mary Rawlings, Social Work
- 2010 Stephen Lambert, Undergraduate Psychology
- 2011 Harold Clousing, Music
- 2012 Frank Berry, Adult and Professional Studies

TEACHING EXCELLENCE

Bruce Baloian, Religion Carole Lambert, English David Weeks, Political Science John Hartley, Religion Beverly Stanford, Education Bruce Simmerok, Education Bill Catling, Art Ann Croissant, Education Don Isaak, Math & Physics Cahleen Shrier, Biology Nancy Brashear, Education Earl Grant, Theology Orlando Griego, Business & Management Gary Lemaster, Business & Management Jan Kodat, Physical Therapy Phil Shackleton, Music William Yarchin, Theology Renee Pozza, Nursing Thomas Allbaugh, English Elizabeth Leahy, University Libraries Jennifer Walsh, History & Political Science Michael Lee. Music Kathleen Bacer, Educational Tech. and P.E.

## **AZUSA PACIFIC UNIVERSITY**

## SCHOLARY ACHIEVEMENT (Graduate & Undergraduate)

The award for scholarly achievement is given to a faculty member who values and promotes scholarship through discovery, integration, or application, and actively supports dissemination of that work through presentations and publications. The individual selected is one who recognizes the linkages between active scholarship, teaching, student learning and service.

These awards are presented at the Fall Faculty Workshop and each is accompanied by a memento and an honorarium of \$1,000.

#### PAST RECIPIENTS

	<u>GRADUATE</u>	<u>UNDERGRADUATE</u>
2000	Kathryn Scorgie, Education	Vicky Bowden, Nursing
2001	John Hartley, Theology	Bill McCarty, Business
2002	Marsha Fowler, Nursing & Theology	Gerald Wilson, Religion
2003	Felicitas dela Cruz, Nursing	Joseph Bentz, English
2004	Marianne Hattar, Nursing	Emily Griesinger, English
2005	Laurie Schreiner, Higher Educ & Org Leadership	Kimberly Battle-Walters, Social Work
2006	Kevin Reimer, Graduate Psychology	Donald Isaak, Math & Physics
2007	Kimasi Browne, Music	Carole Lambert, Acad. Research & Grants
2008	Cheryl Canary, Nursing	Diana Glyer, English
2009	Carol Lundberg, College Student Development	Jim Willis, Communication Studies
2010	Don Thorsen, Theology	Samuel Sambasivam, Computer Science
2011	Robert Welsh, Graduate Psychology	Monica Ganas, Theater, Film and Television
2012	Gary James Daichendt, Art and Design	Rich Slimbach, Global Studies/Sociology/TESOL

In 2007, the Graduate Scholarly Achievement Award name was changed to the **Rose Liegler Graduate Scholarly** Achievement Award.

## ALICE V. WATKINS IMAGO DEI ETHOS AWARD

Alice V. Watkins Imago Dei Ethos Award, named for Alice V. Watkins, Ph.D., former dean of the School of Education and Behavioral Studies, the award recognized those who play a substantial role in supporting underrepresented professionals at the university and advancing diversity in higher education.

### PAST RECIPIENTS

- 2003 David Miyahara
- 2004 Sue Clark
- 2005 Mark Eaton
- 2007 Thomas Andrews, Library
- 2008 Carol Lundberg, Higher Education & Organizational Leadership
- 2009 Judy Hutchinson, Center for Academic Service Learning and Research AND Jon R. Wallace, President
- 2010 Nilsa Thorsos, Special Education
- 2011 Pam Christian, Doctoral Studies in Education
- 2012 Christopher Bassey, Mathematics and Physics

# AZUSA PACIFIC UNIVERSITY

## SERVICE-LEARNING CORNERSTONES AWARD

The Service Learning Cornerstone Award is given to the faculty member who has most clearly integrated Christ, scholarship, community, and service.

### PAST RECIPIENTS

- 2005 Sean Rochelle
  2006 Karen Sorenson
  2007 Bryan Lamkin
  2008 Melanie Weaver
  2009 None
  2010 Stuart Strother
- 2011 Paul Flores
- 2012 Robert "Bobby" Duke, Biblical Studies

In 2010, the Service-Learning Cornerstones Award was added to the Provost's annual faculty awards (previously awarded by Center for Academic Service-Learning and Research). The Office of Academic Service-Learning and Research will submit two nominations to the AC and the cabinet members will select one of those two candidates.