Skip to Content

Program Locations

Cape Town

Province: Western Cape
Population: 2,893,251 (2004)
Languages: Afrikaans (41.4%), English (0.7%), Xhosa (27.9%)
Race: Colored (48.13%), Black African (31%), White (18.75%), Asian (1.43%)
Religion: Christian (76.6%), No religion (10.7%), Muslim (9.7%), Jewish (0.5%), Hindu (0.2%), other (2.3%)

Background: Cape Town is the third most populous city in South Africa, forming part of the metropolitan municipality of the City of Cape Town. It is the provincial capital of the Western Cape, as well as the legislative capital of South Africa, where the National Parliament and many government offices are located. Often regarded as one of the world's most beautiful cities because of its geography, Cape Town is the most popular South African destination for tourism.

Cape Town originally developed as a harbor for Dutch ships sailing to Eastern Africa, India, and Asia. On April 6, 1652, the first permanent European settlement in sub-Saharan Africa was established. It was the largest city in South Africa until the growth of Johannesburg and Durban.