University College’s academic programs are facilitated by academically qualified practitioners with real-world experience. The academic department works to ensure student success and set up the path toward lifelong learning.


  • Kurt Takamine, Ed.D.
    Chief Academic Officer
  • Gordon Jorgenson, M.A.
    Director of Academic Operations

Curriculum and Teaching Excellence

  • Rhonda McEwen, Ph.D.
    Curriculum and Teaching Excellence Director
  • Frank Berry, Ph.D.
    Curriculum Specialist/Faculty
  • Brant Himes, Ph.D.
    Curriculum Specialist/Faculty

Discipline Chairs

  • John Washatka, Ed.D.
  • Jeff Slattery, DBA
    Management and Leadership

Program Directors

  • Nealy Brown, Ph.D., NCC, ACS
    Graduate Psychology
  • Shannon Hunt, M.A.
    Undergraduate Psychology
  • Joanna Vance, Ph.D.
    Health Sciences


  • Richard Durfield, Ph.D.
  • Scott Edgar, Ph.D., D.Min.
  • Fred Garlett, Ed.D.
  • Robert Waltz, Ed.D.

Meet more UC faculty members through the Course Portal.