APU and KYXY Radio Honor San Diego County Nurses

by Tracy Prouty '09

At the end of each month between September and May, Azusa Pacific University’s San Diego Regional Center and School of Nursing, and KYXY-FM Radio select one San Diego County recipient from a wealth of nominees who exemplify excellence in the field of nursing to receive the C.A.R.E. Award. The professionals range from emergency room nurses to specialty nurses. Nominated by colleagues, ER patients, and cancer survivors, nine individuals were honored in 2007-08 with a commemorative plaque and $250 gift certificate to The Catamaran Spa.

The C.A.R.E. Award was created to recognize and reward nurses who have made a career in caring for others. Co-sponsored by APU, KYXY-FM Radio, and The Catamaran Resort and Spa, this is the second year the C.A.R.E. Awards have been given.

“While we are in the business of providing training and education, this is a small opportunity for APU to give back and honor nurses in the field,” said John Burlison, director of APU’s San Diego Regional Center.

To celebrate their achievements, the award recipients gathered with family and friends at a private reception held at The Catamaran Resort and Spa on June 6. Aja Lesh, Ph.D., RN, dean of APU's School of Nursing, praised the recipients for their selfless service, and for modeling excellence in healthcare for the APU students on rotation in their facilities. The nine winners were also entered into a drawing for a Catamaran Resort & Spa grand prize package that includes a two-night stay in a Bay Side Suite, a "Day of Pamper" at the spa, and dinner for two in the award-winning Atoll Restaurant overlooking Mission Bay.

"KyXy has always had a commitment to the community, and the CARE Award program gives us an opportunity to acknowledge and honor those who spend their life caring for others---nurses!" said  Brittany Donnelly, new business development and digital sales manager for KyXy-FM. "We look forward to partnering with Azusa Pacific University again next year for the third year of our CARE Award Program."

The nurses recognized this year included: Edith Evangelista of Villas Las Palmas in El Cajon, Deanne Ellsworth of Sharp Rees Stealy, Iris Rosario of Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center, Diora McKelvey of Sharp Mary Birch Hospital, Joseph Kulchar of Sharp Memorial Hospital, Marianne Bump of Sharp Mary Birch Hospital, Elmer Madarang of Davita Dialysis Center in Chula Vista, Lori Turgeon of Alvarado Hospital, and Wendy Luera of Kaiser Permanente.