School of Nursing

A Place for Mom Senior Care Innovation Scholarship

This award is open to any student enrolled in an associate's degree, bachelor’s degree, or graduate-level program in one of the following fields: gerontology, long term care administration, social work, medicine, nursing, or sociology. Applicants must complete a letter of introduction, essay, and scholarship award agreement. Award recipients will receive $1,000 to be used for books and tuition. Visit the A Place For Mom site for more information.

American Cancer Society Doctoral Degree Scholarships in Cancer Nursing

This award is open to graduate students pursuing doctoral study in the field of cancer nursing research and preparing for careers as nurse scientists. Initial awards are made for up to two years with the possibility of a two-year renewal. There is a stipend of $15,000 per year. Visit the American Cancer Society site for more information.

American Cancer Society Graduate Scholarships in Cancer Nursing Practice

This award supports graduate students pursuing a master's degree in cancer nursing or doctorate of nursing practice (DNP). Awards may be for two years, with a stipend of $10,000 per year. Visit the American Cancer Society site for more information.

American Nurses Association Minority Fellowship Program

Applicants must be American citizens or have permanent visa status. They must also have a master’s degree in psychiatric/mental health nursing or in a related field and be pursuing a doctoral degree in psychiatric/mental health or in a related field. The award amount and duration of the award may vary. Visit the Minority Fellowship Program for more information.

Building Academic Geriatric Nursing Capacity Pre-doctoral Scholarship

This scholarship program reviews applicants who are pre-doctoral, are registered nurses, hold degree(s) in nursing, are U.S. citizens or permanent residents, plan an academic and research career, and demonstrate potential for long-term contributions to geriatric nursing. Visit the National Hartford Centers of Gerontological Nursing Excellence site for more information.

Deloras Jones RN Scholarship Program

The Deloras Jones RN Scholarship Program offers two scholarships. Both need- and merit-based scholarships are available to students across California. Need-based scholarships of $1,000–$2,500 are offered to students enrolled in approved nursing degree programs in California. Kaiser Permanente employees are not eligible. Visit Kaiser’s Nursing Pathways site for more information.

Foundation of the National Student Nurses Association Scholarships

Eligibility is open to U.S. citizens and students with an Alien Registration number currently enrolled in state-approved schools of nursing or pre-nursing in associate degree, baccalaureate, diploma, generic doctorate, and generic master's programs. Funds are not available for graduate study unless it is for a first degree in nursing. Visit the National Student Nurses’ Association site for more information.

Johnson & Johnson/American Association of Colleges of Nursing Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars Program

To be eligible, the student must be a member of an underrepresented minority group; a U.S. citizen, permanent resident, refugee, or qualified immigrant; and enrolled full-time or already accepted into an accredited doctoral nursing program (i.e. PhD or DNP) or clinically-focused nursing master’s program (i.e. MSN). Visit the American Association of Colleges of Nursing site for more information.

Medical Professionals of Tomorrow Scholarship

U.S. Medical Supplies, an online retailer of medical supplies, offers the Medical Professionals of Tomorrow Scholarship. This scholarship is offered to a full-time graduate student pursuing a career in the medical field. One recipient will receive an award of $5,000. In order to qualify for this award, applicants must answer an essay question posed by the scholarship provider. Visit the U.S. Medical Supplies site for more information.

National Health Service Corps Scholarship or Loan Repayment Program

The competitive NHSC Scholarship Program awards tuition and fees and provides a living stipend to students enrolled in accredited academic programs while pursing a career in the disciplines of medicine, dentistry, nurse practitioner, certified nurse-midwife, or physician assistant. The NHSC Loan Repayment Program offers qualified health providers, including Primary Care Certified Nurse Practitioners or Psychiatric Nurse Specialists, the opportunity to have their student loans repaid for serving communities in need. Visit the National Health Service Corps loan repayment or scholarships page for more information.

S. Evelyn Lewis Memorial Scholarship in Medical Health Sciences

The Zeta Phi Beta Sorority’s National Education Foundation offers this scholarship to women pursuing careers in medicine or health sciences. Applications are accepted between September 1–February 1 annually. Award recipients will receive between $500–$1,000. Visit the Zeta Phi Beta Sorority National Educational Foundation site for more information.