Image of an open Bible

About the School

The School of Theology at Azusa Pacific University, an expansion of an institution that began in 1899 with the formation of the Training School for Christian Workers, adheres to its Wesleyan theological tradition. The School of Theology prepares men and women for ministry in the Church, whether as lay persons or as ordained professionals, through its accredited degree programs.

Azusa Pacific University is regionally accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC).

The programs available in the school’s three departments offer courses of study that encourage the search for truth about God, human existence in relationship to God, and the world as God’s creation. Students are guided in this search through an analysis of the Christian Scriptures, historical and contemporary statements of Christian belief, human experience of God and the world, and rational reflections on the nature of reality by great thinkers—both past and present. The goal of this study is to prepare men and women for service to God, as either lay or professional ministers in His Kingdom. Academic study is therefore balanced with a concern for individual involvement in practical ministry.

The departments offer majors in biblical studies major, Christian ministries major, philosophy major, theology, and youth and family ministries; minors in ancient languages, biblical studies minor, Christian ministries minor, cultural engagement minor, philosophical apologetics minor, philosophy minor, practical and professional ethics, religious studies minor, theology minor, youth and family ministries minor; and certificates of distinction in biblical studies certificate, philosophy certificate, and theology certificate.

General Education

Biblical, Theological, and Philosophical Formation

Each major course of study builds on the General Education requirement in Biblical, Theological, and Philosophical Formation (18 units). Transfer students take the number of units required by the registrar. Courses are selected from the list of core courses for General Education in consultation with a department advisor. All majors in the school must maintain a minimum 2.5 cumulative grade-point average from all courses for the major.

The philosophy major adds 27-28 units of specialized upper-division study in philosophy, and the four majors in theology (biblical studies, Christian ministries, youth ministry, and theology) add core courses in religion and philosophy and a specialization of upper-division courses in the major. Courses used to meet the General Education requirement in God’s Word and the Christian Response cannot be used to meet the additional core of specialization requirements of the majors.

In general, correspondence courses are not accepted as fulfillment of theology or philosophy requirements. However, a student may petition to have 3 correspondence units count toward his/her major or minor upon department approval. The course(s) must match existing courses, and the student may be asked to pass an exam. Double majors require 24 units which are distinctive to one major; 18 units must be upper division. Each minor course of study requires 12 units of upper-division work in the area of the minor. Courses applied toward another major or minor may not be counted toward a minor.

View the university catalog for Biblical, Theological, and Philosophical Formation requirements.

Students transferring into the university may waive some of the General Education Biblical, Theological, and Philosophical Formation requirements for the major as follows: sophomore standing, 3 units; junior standing, 9 units; and senior standing, 12 units. The specific courses waived are selected in consultation with a department faculty advisor.

Note: This information is current for the 2023-24 academic year; however, all stated academic information is subject to change. Refer to the current Academic Catalog for more information.